What's With All the Engineers?

In a recent post, it was noted, “Maybe the majority of men who have been supportive of Warhorn’s work over the years are engineers (computer and otherwise) and coders. I’ve considered various explanations for why this is the case, but here I simply note it.”

As a structural engineer myself, and a supporter of Warhorn’s work, I thought it may be helpful to explore what’s with all the engineers?

I have some ideas, but I won’t type them. I’m more interested in what others say.

3 Likes

I’m not active in the hard sciences world today, but I do have a math and computer science degree. An exposure to the hard sciences reminds you that there are fixed absolutes, no matter what we might like to think in our wishy-washy world. I figure reformed theology tends to attract those who like systematic thought as well, although I’ve gravitated a lot more to the Biblical Theology emphasis myself. I’d say my primary encouragement from the Warhorn crew has been their unapologetic stance on Godly sexuality.

5 Likes

Network engineer here. I got nothing. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Objective standards? That’s my best guess.

3 Likes

Software engineer here. I’m not sure about the Warhorn following; I’m up in Moscow, and although there are some engineers, they’re not the majority. I wonder how the differences between the Moscow/ wilson/ Christ Church message and the Warhorn message affect that makeup.

It could also just be regional. Not too many coders in the Pacific Northwest. There were a ton of coders and engineers in the Presbyterian circle in colorado, but colorado is an engineering hotspot.

This reminds me of when I read “Do Hard Things” when I was younger and joined the Internet forum for it after reading. I was dismayed to see that about 90% were of the participants were female. Something about that message must have been feminine; or maybe just something about joining forums ¯_(ツ)_/¯

Aw c’mon Ben, give us your theory!