Firearm for women

What firearms have you all found to be effective for home use for your wives/daughters? Many women can’t rack a slide on a semiauto and so revolvers seem to be a good way to go.

Would live to get the thoughts of the community here.

Anytime wives or daughters have tried to get into my home, I’ve been able to fend them off with knives or blunt objects. No guns required.

16 Likes

Revolvers are great. For men also.

For autos, I hear the M&P Shield EZ is designed to be easier to rack.

Training and practice can overcome a lot of apparent hurdles. There are techniques that help with racking the slide.

1 Like

We’re gonna turn Sanityville into a gun forum if we’re not careful. :slight_smile:

So, I have some experience in this.

First of all, it must be acknowledged that there is no substitute for your wife/daughter/mother actually being familiar with guns and shooting in general. It isn’t enough to just spec a theoretically ideal weapon for them if they never actually become familiar with it.

With that backdrop, here’s my experience. A few years ago, after my dad died, Mom wanted to keep a gun in the house – either a handgun in her nightstand, or maybe a long gun in the closet. She has been around guns her whole life, and did some shooting with Dad back in the day, but she’s never really handled loaded guns on her own. Her experience had more been the kind of shooting where Dad loaded the gun for her, etc.

I sold off most of Dad’s guns to help support my mom, but one of the guns we kept around was an old 9mm Marlin Camp Carbine. As semi-automatics go, it’s a very straight forward action to operate. I took Mom to the range to shoot it, and spent time teaching her how it works, etc. But one thing that became clear to me is that the semi-automatic action made her very anxious. She was worried about being able to confirm if it was loaded, make sure she unloaded it properly, etc.