Repenting for the sins of other people (our fathers)?

In the recent article we published by Kevin Gregory he wrote the following:

I studied all verses listed and I did not find convincing Biblical support for the concept of repenting for the behavior of other people.

I haven’t ever really dug into this topic before. I don’t know what verses were cited. However, I recently preached on 2 Kings 22, in which we read of King Josiah’s response to hearing the word of the Lord that had just been found during the Temple repairs:

““Go, inquire of the LORD for me and the people and all Judah concerning the words of this book that has been found, for great is the wrath of the LORD that burns against us, because our fathers have not listened to the words of this book, to do according to all that is written concerning us.”” (2 Kings 22:13)

He assumes that God’s wrath remains on him and the people not for what they had done, but because of what their fathers had done. In fact, chapter 22 is not chronological, and when you consider the order of events, it is quite clear that he has been zealously devoted to the Lord for about a decade already:

the Chronicler does give us more chronological precision on the worship reforms (= 34:3–7): (1) In Josiah’s eighth year (632 BC, when he was sixteen years old) he ‘began to seek the God of David his father’ (v. 3a); (2) in his twelfth year (628 BC, at twenty years old) he ‘began to purge’ Judah and then extended his image/altar-bashing to the former northern kingdom (vv. 3b–7); and (3) in his eighteenth year (622 BC, at twenty-six years of age) came the discovery of the Book of the Law and renewal of the covenant (vv. 8ff.).— Dale Ralph Davis, 2 Kings: The Power and the Fury, Focus on the Bible Commentary (Great Britain: Christian Focus Publications, 2005), 319.