Motte and bailey

New Warhorn Media post by Nathan Alberson:

2 Likes

Not quite done yet but THANK YOU!

I’ve had back-and-forths with two parachurch groups and some leaders at the school we help run about the motte-and-bailey fallacy as it pertains to COVID policies (I’m a physician FTR).

Basic summary: “masks don’t work” is the bailey and “the strength of the evidence of masks as a mitigation strategy doesn’t warrant criminalizing non-mask use” is the motte. Obviously the latter is more easily defensible but doesn’t generate the rage clicks.

And I just had a similar M-and-B conversation w/ my son about race issues in the US.

You’re right: once you see it, you can’t unsee it, and you see it everywhere.

4 Likes

The other notable recent script of the M-and-B is the self-flagellation:
Public figure: “I’m a racist.”
Public: “OK you should resign from you position.”
Public figure: “Well not that kind of racist.”

3 Likes

It’s kind of like putting on the glasses in that one alien movie. Suddenly you see the undergirding of the whole horrible world.

1 Like

I’m just disappointed you didn’t make it an interview with Pastor Tim and call the episode Motte and Bayly. :joy:

15 Likes

We thought about it but then we’d have to have the owner of Mott’s Apple Juice on as counterpoint.

7 Likes