Marriage (1): untended gardens grow weeds

New Warhorn Media post by Tim Bayly:

8 Likes

Thank you for this. Wise and pastoral counsel for my own marriage, and a blessing to anyone who will read and apply it.

3 Likes

Pastor Bayly (from the article): “Otherwise, this dear precious bride God has given you was taught and exhorted and vowed to obey you, and likely (actually very likely) you failed to take the first days and months to help her to grow in submission.”

So true in my case. I hope there are men reading this who do not wait until they’ve been married five years before they realize their error and start leading. I even thought my hands-off “leadership style” was great and encouraged her to be her own woman for years. So foolish.

So much marital advice I hear is either weak or backward. I thank God for showing me a better/right way and helping me repent. I’m still learning and growing - and I guess I always will be - but at least it’s in the right direction now.

Thankful for you and your ministry.

4 Likes

Man, so much I can say on this topic. My wife and I have been married for 14 years. We each had pretty evangelicalish backgrounds growing up, and while we each held to what I would describe as “traditional” understanding of men being “initiatior” and woman being a helper, we had no real Scriptural footing concerning manhood and womanhood. Anything we had right in our understanding was owing purely to God’s mercy in the assumptions passed on to us by the circumstances of our upbringing, but otherwise I look back and stand amazed at our ignorance.