JD Greear on Homosexuality

Phil Johnson just shared this: https://mobile.twitter.com/pastorkenrp/status/1090293655766585344

So… the president of the SBC is telling us we need to whisper about sexual sin? The mind boggles.

4 Likes

He can’t have it both ways. On the one hand he’s saying that all these sins are equal, but on the other hand he’s saying that some sins are a bigger deal. It doesn’t even make sense.

But so many men today are teaching that all sins are equal in order to downplay God’s condemnation of homosexuality that it’s just boring at this point.

On the flip side, as a pastor, I know how this happens. It’s a sad truth that I could easily see myself doing it. May God give us boldness.

10 Likes

This is an article I wrote about J.D. Greear’s recent sermon on Romans 1.

http://www.sovereignkingchurch.com/blog/jd-greear-peace-peace-on-sodomy

8 Likes

Thank you for writing this, Joseph. Love,

2 Likes

I listened to about the whole sermon.

To be as generous as I can be, taken as a whole, I believe he did successfully articulate the truth that at all specific sin is symptomatic of the core sin, which is our elevation of ourselves above the authority of God.

But this point was completely obscured by the fact that he did everything he possibly could to downplay the seriousness of specific sins in the process. This is smoke and mirrors capitulation preaching. Nothing more. And given his leadership role in the SBC, I think this sermon will come to be marked as one of the prophetic milestones foreshadowing the total destruction of the American church’s witness to the culture concerning sexual sin.

This was one comment among several that really gave away the farm:

“When you fully understand the gospel . . . you will stand up and be among the fiercest advocates for the dignity and rights of LGBT.”