How to prepare for pastoral ministry (4)

New Warhorn Media post by Tim Bayly:

3 Likes

Droll: you could have turned up in the UK with a good Masterā€™s degree, and with your American accent, had no trouble in finding a place in our equivalent of a tall-steeple church, in either the Church of Scotland or the Free Church(es). ā€œA prophet is not without honour ā€¦ā€ :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Sure, all those Statesophiles in the UK.

If only I could been born in the United States.
If only I could speak English like a North American.
If only I could get the higher education they all get over in the States.
If only we could exchange Queen Elizabeth for President Trump.
If only I had the manners of an American.
If only I had the breeding of an American.
If only our island was as large as their island.

Stuff you must have to listen to all the time.

2 Likes

It took me six years, to squeeze through the 4 years at Dallas Seminary, and has been 20 years since I graduated. Iā€™m almost over it. :grinning:

1 Like

It seems to me that there is an inverse relation between the desirability and impressiveness of a credential and the actual usefulness of it. In my field, doing a Ph.D. is how most people get the training to do independent scientific research, but oneā€™s reputation is based on oneā€™s ongoing record of research publications, not oneā€™s Ph.D. credential. Iā€™d even go so far as to say there is less demand that ā€œDr.ā€ be used as an honorific for those with a science Ph.D. than for those with doctorates of ministry or education.