Roman Wives, Roman Widows

This looks way too academic for me, but I thought it might be of interest to some here: Loading interface...

3 Likes

Hi Valerie. Read it and an earlier volume called, ‘After Paul Left Corinth’ which is a broader look at 1 Corinthians.

Bruce Winter is a good guy, and I like hearing him preach, but I think he relies far too heavily on dubious historical claims. He’s the bloke I mentioned under the previous head covering thread.

I’ve actually spent some time looking up his sources as they relate to 1 Corinthians 11 and wrote a long bit on why they don’t say what he thinks they say, but I’m not a professional historian, so never been taken seriously by anyone I’ve given my conclusions to. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Thanks. I’ll have to go back and read that thread.

Nothing to see there. Just mentioned Bruce Winter and my disagreement. If you want detail, I’ll post it here, but my impression was you were just putting the book out there for others, (though it’s actually not a difficult read if you felt like takling it yourself).

Well, there was an unspoken, “Somebody read this and tell me what it says, 'cuz I’m too lazy.” :laughing: I know myself well enough to know I’d never get around to reading a whole book on the subject, so I figured I’d throw it out there and see if it ever filtered back in a nice condensed version to my level. But it sounds like maybe there’s not enough there to worry about.

Lol. Totally missed that hidden meaning. I’ll see what I can do after Church (Sunday here).

It was so well hidden it wasn’t even implied. Just my motivation, not my communication! :wink:

It occurred to me that there is another review here:

and here:

I feel a little disrespectful critiquing Bruce Winter, because I view him as a genuine Christian man who has been immensely helpful to Queensland Presbyterians. But I also think he is very wrong. Hopefully I can communicate that without looking like a troll.

Let’s see if I can.